7 mins

The green list: Where you can travel to from the UK without needing to quarantine on your return

Here is the full list of green list countries on the UK government's traffic light system for travel, including Portugal, Gibraltar, Iceland and more...

List of low risk countries for which England's quarantine has been scrapped (Shutterstock)

UK traffic light system for travel: which countries are on the green list

PLEASE NOTE: This information is correct as of 6pm on 7 May.

The UK government has announced the much anticipated green list, where travellers will not have to quarantine on their return once the travel ban is lifted on 17 May. However, in reality, not all of them are currently open to UK travellers.

For the ones you can visit, you will still need to adhere to testing requirements, so make sure you know what the traffic light system means and what you will need to do before travelling in and out of the country. And don't forget! Just because a country is on the UK's green list, it doesn't mean the UK is on theirs! So do make sure you keep up to date with the latest travel restrictions in place for the country you are planning to visit. 

The next updates to the Green List will be in June, when it is anticipated that many European countries currently on the amber list could move to green. 

See the full list of 12 green list countries below...


Countries on the green list: where you will not have to quarantine on your return to the UK

Gibraltar is on the green list for travel meaning UK travellers can return from Gibraltar without needing to quarantine.

Gibraltar is on the green list for travel meaning UK travellers can return from Gibraltar without needing to quarantine.

Countries on the green list in Europe

 The ones you really can visit from 17 May


With a footprint less than 7 sq km, the British Overseas Territory of Gibraltar may be small but it packs a punch. Don’t miss these five experiences. 


With its exciting landscape of volcanoes, glaciers, natural hot springs and waterfalls, Iceland makes for an adventurous first trip after lockdown. Here are some of our favourite things to do in Iceland. 


As well as mainland Portugal, Madeira and the Azores are also included in the green list. Despite being one of the first countries to be added to the UK government's red list at the start of the year, Portugal is now one of the few countries in Europe where you can return from your holiday without having to quarantine in the UK. Start planning your visit to this country on the green list with our full guide. 

Check for restrictions on these...


If Israel didn't make it onto the green list then nowhere would! Following the huge success of its vaccine rollout, we have had our fingers crossed for this one for a while, and can't wait to get back to explore the culturally rich country. But note that it is currently only taking group tours. 

Faroe Islands

Halfway between Iceland and Norway, to the north of UK, the Faroe Islands are a jigsaw puzzle of 18 volcanic islands, lying far off the tourist radar.

Countries in Asia on the green list

Please note that these countries are currently closed to non-residents


It may be small, but Singapore dazzles not just with its glittering architecture and Gardens by the Bay, but with its green hiking trails and parks, authentic food scene and admirable public art. 


Brunei – Home to stunning mosques such as Omar Ali Saifuddien, mysterious caves and lush jungle in Ulu Temburong National Park.

Countries in the South Pacific on the green list

Please note that these countries are currently closed to non-residents


The trouble with Australia is that there’s just so much of it! Whether you want to explore the incredible red-hued landscapes of the Northern Territory, have an adventure in Western Australia or combine the best bits of the whole of Australia on one epic road trip, there's certainly a lot to discover. 

New Zealand

Remote, rugged and absolutely remarkable, New Zealand is top of many travellers’ wishlists, and with good reason! 

British Overseas Territories on the Green List 

South Georgia & the South Sandwich Islands

Crowds of King penguins, harrumphing seals and a chance to follow in the footsteps of Shackleton. What could be more of an adventurous first post-lockdown trip than an expedition to South Georgia and the South Sandwich Islands? 

St Helena, Tristan de Cunha, Ascension Island

The volcanic island of St Helena, in the middle of the South Atlantic, is known as the remotest speck of the British Empire. If you’re looking for a secret paradise, then this beautiful island 2,000km from the rest of the world is the answer. 

Falkland Islands

An archipelago of more than 740 islands just 480km east of Patagonia, the Falkland Islands are a natural paradise in the South Atlantic Ocean. Perfect for social distancing!  

Related Articles